Post Number One Hundred

Months have passed since my last entry. You may have wondered what was going on with me. Well it seems I was afraid and was believing a lie. You see when I hit the publish button on my computer after completing an entry, the program congratulates me including the number of the post. My last post was my 99th one. So it seems that little innocuous message got imbedded in my brain along with the lie that I didn’t have anything important enough to say that would merit such a milestone…number one hundred. I was talking to someone last night and I heard myself say this when she asked about my blog. I didn’t know before that I had built up such a story around my blog and that I was believing and living this lie.

And because I haven’t completely obliterated this lie, I have decided to borrow some words for this blog post. I read these words a few weeks ago and they have held my imagination and their truth has resonated. I have wondered and wondered about them and how I do and do not live them. I have no doubt they are worthy of a one-hundredth post. I hope you find them equally mesmerizing and inspiring.

 

 

Love all God’s creation, the whole and every grain of sand in it. Love every leaf, every ray of God’s light. Love the animals, love the plants, love everything.  If you love everything, you will perceive the divine mystery in things. Once you perceive it, you will begin to understand it better every day.   And you will come at last to love the whole world with an all embracing love…Things flow and are indirectly linked together, and if you push here, something will move at the other end of the world. If you strike here, something somewhere will wince; if you sin here, something somewhere will suffer.

–Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Brothers Karamosov

 

 100 things

 

 PS.  I am inspired to create a list like this as a gratitude practice!  I’ll post when done.

About lchavez64

Seeker. Dreamer. Ordinary girl.

2 responses to “Post Number One Hundred

  1. Cindy Balfour

    Love you, and aren’t we all sort of silly that way sometimes. I constantly think I have to get it all right and perfect before I even start.

Leave a comment