into the Unknown

This place where you are…God circled on a map… Our Beloved bowed down knowing you were coming. –Hafiz

brooklyn-atlas-map-vandam

As you all know, I am heading off once again into the unknown, relocating, this time only Rick and me, to New York City (really Brooklyn).  In a week I will be feet on the ground, looking for a place, building a new life…again.  I am anxious, excited, and a little afraid.  I need loads of prayers!

I have been repeating the line above from a poem that I read shortly after my move to San Francisco.  I say it over and over in my head like a mantra to reassure and remind myself that God has been so, so good to me over the years through all these many moves.  After all, each one of you were gifts sent by our Beloved.

As I say each word, I imagine God preparing my place, somewhere in Brooklyn. Somewhere in Brooklyn there is an apartment that will become home.  There are neighbors I will get to know and shopkeepers and hair stylists and doctors and vets and members of a church who will welcome me.  There is work for me to do, Love’s work that will capture my imagination and feed me.  And there is a soul sister or two or three!  Open hearts that will let me in, like you all did.

It will take time–God’s time.  There will be good days and not so good days.  And even though I have been here before and I know the drill, for some reason this time there is a little more trepidation in me.  Maybe because I know so much more than the young girl who jumped wildly onto the roller coaster with Rick twenty-nine years ago.

I bring all this thinking and feeling to prayer.  As usual I am a bit of a mess, combination of faith, doubt, fear and joy.  Thank God that God travels lightly, fitting in the front pocket of my new pink backpack.  Please join my prayer–be with me.

About lchavez64

Seeker. Dreamer. Ordinary girl.

4 responses to “into the Unknown

  1. Cynthia Balfour

    Absolutely perfect and beautiful. I am stealing your prayer, where has this beauty been during my travels. I feel with you every thing and know the ride of faith, as you come down the too steep waters Ide of moving and relocating again. But then it’s ok. The ground is still beneath you and of course God is there as he was with you before and along the way. It’s the lonely minutes in between that are the hardest, missing people who bring comfort just by being a bike ride or a phone call away. God Bless you my friend. (((((Hugs)))))

    Have a lovely day,

    Cindy Balfour Cindybalfour100@gmail.com Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Vicki

    I will be thinking of you and sending much love!!!
    A new adventure awaits….how exciting!!
    Love you, Linda!

  3. Ann Patnaude

    Seattle is going to be less of a fabulous city now that you are leaving. My only consolation is that your kids are here so I know you’ll be back. 🙂 Covering you in prayers and love. Knowing that our God above has a special place picked out for you and His gifts are always infinitely better than we could possibly imagine. Thank you for letting me journey with you.

Leave a Reply

